My Journey to Healthy Living

Sunday, October 30, 2005

Keep it clean!!

Umm....could we keep my comments CLEAN??? *cough* my dear husband *cough*

Saturday, October 29, 2005

Boo Run



Today was the Boo Run! It was a blast!!

Lisa, my sister, and I were up by 6:15am. We got to the place at 7am. Got our chips and waited for the race to begin. It was SO cold, and it was a small crowd. Maybe a 100 people?

8am and it starts. Lisa and I take off. 1.5 miles was pretty good, but close to the end it was getting hard. Lisa kept me going, she very well could've left me in the dust but she didn't!

Finally get to the finish line. I don't remember what Lisa's time was but it was a few seconds behind mine. I was 29:48!

Lisa placed 3rd in her age group and I placed 5th in my age group. Lisa was #39 overall and I was #40 overall. Not too shabby!



Wednesday, October 26, 2005

Terrified

I have a new fear. I am TERRIFIED of gaining my weight back. It's happened before. I've lost quite a bit of weight and I gained it back. It's happened to family and friends.

My problem? FOOD. Especially snacks. I get bored and I want a snack. Kalynn's usually asleep. If I'm busy, I don't snack. But there's not much I can keep busy with.

Also, I keep eating even though I'm full. I don't know why I feel the need to clean my plate. It's so frustrating.

I already know that maintaining this weight is going to be such a battle. Just sucks.

Monday, October 17, 2005

OT: Stay away from Kirby!!!!

This is a little off topic, but I felt that people should know..

I had a HORRIBLE experience with Kirby yesterday. I am still fuming. A nice young lady came over and gave us this flyer "Daily Promotional Specia"...."We will Deep Clean and Shampoo one room NO Charge!"

She said that they would clean our carpets, and give us a demonstration. We could buy today or maybe down the line. Sure, why not!

So, this guy comes in, and asks me some questions, like how often I vaccuum, etc etc. He vaccuums with my beloved Dyson. Then, he vaccuums with the Kirby with these circular filters. We were surprised with the amount of dirt that was lifted. While he was vaccuuming, he kept saying "Wow. Huh. Hmm..You vaccuum every day?" Yes, go ahead and insuinate that I'm a horrible house keeper.

So, he says his spiel and Bill says "Well, we really can't afford it right now". He keeps trying and trying. Then he says "Well, if you can't afford $2 a day, then it's time to find a new job or a second job". HUH??? Yeah, dude, that's a GREAT way to get someone to buy. Then we said we have a child with special needs and her health comes before any vaccuum.

After tell him NO several times, he vaccuums about a quarter of the carpet, and starts packing up his stuff. He didn't even clean our carpes. He left shortly thereafter.

After this experience, I will NEVER buy a Kirby. EVER.

And the funny thing is that he mentioned "word of mouth". Yeah, I'll show you "word of mouth" you jerk.

Sunday, October 16, 2005

My plans for upcoming races

10/29 is the Boo Run. So, if family wants to come out and cheer me and Lisa on, please do so!

I'm also thinking about doing a half marathon..Seriously thinking about it. It's this one:
http://www.texasmarathon.com/half_marathon.htm

I can do 6 miles now. A half marathon is 13 miles. This one is in April. Man, I must be nuts.

Saturday, October 15, 2005

My first 5K!

Today was such a great day!! I ran my first 5K EVER in my ENTIRE life. My time was 32:39! I thought it was pretty dern good!

I spent the night at my Aunt Barbara's house. We got up at around 5:45am. Out the door by 6:20ish. We got to the race by around 7am. It was already crowded!

Aunt Barbara, Aunt Linda, Aunt Julie and Gabbi did the mile run at 7:45am. Gabbi ran the mile WITH a ingrown toe nail and in sandals! Go Gabbi!!

I did the 5K at 8:15am. It was SO crowded, I couldn't even move. I could hear about 10 conversations all at once and it was driving me nuts. Finally, the race starts and I had to weave in and out of the crowd. After I got out of the walking crowd and caught up with the runners, it was so nice. Not crowded at all.

I did stop for a few seconds to get a drink. I couldn't just throw the cup on the ground like others were doing. It just felt wrong! So, course, I had to jog over to the trash can and put my cup in the trash. No litter bug here!

It was so neat to hear people cheering us on. There were even bands playing on different parts of the route. I definitely felt a rush.

When I knew it was the end, I sprinted to the end. My time was 32:39! It felt GREAT. I felt like I had accomplished something.

It was just so neat that I went from barely running 5 feet and feeling like I was going to die to running a 5k!

My next race is 10/29 in Garland and I am STOKED. Hopefully, it won't be as crowded as it was for the Race for the Cure.

Tuesday, October 11, 2005

Stuff

Finally have a few minutes to post!

I weighed in on Monday, and I lost a lb! Woohoo!

Exercise wise, it hasn't been going great. Monday, I only got 2 miles in because it started to rain on me.

Today, no running, Bill had to work late.

Tomorrow and Thursday, I should get my 5-6 miles in! Friday, I'm going to my Aunt's house to spend the night and then we're all going to go to the Race for the Cure.

I am officially going to do the Boo Run (5K). My sister Lisa is going to do the race with me! I'm totally excited about doing another race!

Sunday, October 09, 2005

Just yapping

This weekend has been a good one so far!

We ended up going to a place called the Fuzzy Taco in Ft Worth. It was pretty good. I gave Kalynn half of one of my chicken tacos and half of my beans and rice. Before we went out to eat, I ran for about 45 minutes.

Didn't do much on Saturday. Bill was craving some cookies. I looked at the package for the serving size and how many calories, and such. OMG, a serving size is ONE cookie, and that one cookie is 5 points!! *faint* Before I started to eat healthy, I would eat about 3 of those cookies.

I think I'm getting known around town! *LOL* I had a cop stop me during my run. He said he sees me running every day and he wishes he could run! LOL I've had several people around town and around my neighborhood tell me that!


Well, I signed up for the Race for the Cure! It's my first 5K! Every year my family does this Race for the Cure. We did it last year but I walked it. I'm going to run it this year.

I also want to do The Boo Run in Garland. It's the 29th (Price wanna do this race with me?). I'd like to do a 5K or 10K race once a month.

Anyway, hope everyone is having a good Sunday!

Friday, October 07, 2005

New plan

Well, talked to my dad, he gave me some great pointers..And I am very proud of my dad, he's lost over 40 lbs!!!! Yay dad!!!!

I am going to continue tracking my points starting today. Since it's raining, I will probably just work out on the elliptical. No running today. Besides, I need some running pants before I can run anyway!

Tonight is our going out to eat night. I am hoping we can go get Chinese. That way, I can get the steamed rice/chicken and broccoli. Our friends that we go with always split it, so I'm not tempted to eat the entire thing. Plus, we give some to our girls as well.


Tomorrow and Sunday, hopefully, I'll be able to run.

Thursday, October 06, 2005

Whew!! Crazy past few days!

It's been a crazy few weeks! We've had some relatives staying with us. They are evacuees from Hurricane Rita.

It's been nice having them here. Unfortunately, I gained back 2 lbs out of the 2.5 lbs I lost :( I was sad but I am still running. Last night I didn't run but I plan on running tonight. Actually, I plan on running this evening when Bill gets home.

Thanks everyone for your comments. I keep telling myself that it's how I feel, and not those stupid #'s on the scale.

Lisa, you're right, I HATE the "ideal" weight that WW's said I should be at. Whateva. Me?? at 135?? Don't think so, ain't happenin'.

I really do think at my "ideal" weight for me is between 150-155.