My Journey to Healthy Living

Tuesday, September 27, 2005

Guess I just had to get sick!

What a crazy few weeks!!

Bill was sick, so I wasn't able to run but 3 times. Then Kalynn got sick. Then I got sick. When I was sick, I didn't run for the entire week.

Last Friday, my SIL, BIL and their family came in because they were in the area where Hurricane Rita hit. They'll be staying here for awhile. For some reason, I've been snacking on some baaad stuff..Trying to control it.

I weighed myself yesterday and Halle-freakin-lujiah, I lost 2.5 lbs!! Course, I'll probably go back to 155. So, I guess maybe I should get sick every week so I can lose some weight?

I also started running again, but I'm not up to par. I could barely do 3 miles, when I usually do 5.5 to 6 miles!!

Monday, September 19, 2005

Throwing out the scale

Well, today was another weigh in and no weight loss. I even tried doing things differently. On my runs, I did some intervals--You run your normal pace and then you go as fast as you can for 30 seconds. My legs felt like they were going to fall off!

I almost feel like I don't want to run anymore. But I know I need to and I really enjoy it. Plus, if I were to stop, I'd get into my old habits again and gain some weight back. I like being in 8-10's. I don't ever want to go back to size 20. So, that's enough motivation for me.

And perhaps, 155 is the lowest that I can ever get?

So, I'm going to have Bill hide the scale and I can weigh myself once every 2 weeks?

Wednesday, September 14, 2005

Size 10? Fat butt

Well, I've been thinking a lot about my weight. I am having trouble with body image. I still feel fat. I feel that I'm around these women who have perfect bodies, probably size 4.

In fact I HAAAAAAATE this Nutrisystem commercial with Zora in it. She was saying she went from a size 10 to a 4. They showed her "before" picture. Yeah,you're a real fat butt being a size 10. Whatever. I mean, what is that saying to young women? If you're a size 10 then you really need to lose weight? Unfortunately, I'm falling prey to that. Especially with having a baby, everything's kinda droopy. Plus I have a stupid bump on my stomach from a biking accident. There are days that I just hate my body.

I'm also thinking about discontinuing my WW's membership. I won't stop doing WW's, I'll still keep doing my points. It's just that I don't think I'll ever get down to the goal weight that's set for me. I've been stuck at 155 seems like forever. Every MOnday, when I do my weigh in, I don't lose weight and then I get depressed. Maybe I'll just be happy where I'm at. I'm a size 8-10 and a size M in shirts. I'm very happy with that.

Monday, September 12, 2005

ARRRRRRRRRGGGGGHHHHHH

So, I gained a freakin' half a pound. What in the world??? OOHHH well, it's another week (again). I am just getting frustrated. I can't get past 155.

I did find an interesting website: http://www.biofitness.com/bodyfat.html
Makes me feel a bit better. According to that, my desired weight should be 147. That's much more realistic than 139. It went by measurements and how active I am. Not just weight and ht which I think is full of crap.

Just because someone's BMI is low doesn't necessarily mean they're healthy. I'm just sick and tired of skinny being equated with being healthy.

This weekend was really good. Went to dinner with my family, it was my Aunt's bday! I love hanging out with family.

Yesterday, I did an hour and 30 min run. Today I plan on running later this evening, I'll probably go at around 6:45 or 7. It's starting to get darker earlier.

Monday, September 05, 2005

Is it true?

I LOST 1.5 LBS!!! Woohoo!!! This week, I think I made better choices. I ate more protein, veggies and fruit. And I MADE myself take two days off from running. I can't believe it's taken me about a month to lose a freakin' lb and a half. If this happened a few years ago when I lost weight, I would've given up because of the no weight loss. But I didn't. I know I am much healthier, and I look and feel much better.

I've been running a bit longer. I've been running for about an hr and 10-15 min. It feels great although near the end, my legs feel like they're going to fall off! I am going to try to do a 5K once a month, if $$ allows. I am definitely doing the Race for the Cure. I'd like to see if I could do a 10K. Maybe one of these days I could do a marathon, but I doubt that'll be any time soon.